Sports FAQ
Home / Americas Football

Blue Devils win CPSL championship

Joe MacCarthy2010-05-12 22:43:34 +0000 #1
Blue Devils win CPSL championship

TORONTO (CP) - Ryan Gamble scored the winning goal at the stroke of 100 minutes as the Oakville Blue Devils beat the Vaughan Shooters 2-1 to win the Canadian Professional Soccer League championship Monday.

The winning goal came following a 1-1 tie at the end of regulation 90 minutes on goals by Vaughan midfielder Stalin Cardenas and Oakville's Sergio De Luca.

Cardenas caught the net with a drive from 30 yards at the 37th minute mark. The tying goal by Oakville's Sergio De Luca one minute after the interval.

While the first half was an even end-to-end contest, Vaughan had most of the play in the second half, failing with several opportunities to win the game handily.

There were near-misses by Matthew Palleschi, Frankie Bruno and Darryl Gomez.

Goalkeeper Sa Brahima Traore made several key saves in the Oakville net to keep his side in the game.

Oakville defeated Hamilton Thunder 2-0 and Vaughan blanked Toronto Croatia 4-0 in the semifinals Saturday.

Shooters midfielder Desmond Humphrey was the league's MVP and Aaron Byrd of the Windsor Border Stars was the top goalscorer with 20 goals.

Dennis Peeters of London City was named the rookie of the year. Dejan Gluscevic of North York Astros was the coach of the year. Filip Rocca of Windsor was the best defender and Haider Al-Shaibani of London City was named the CPSL's top goalkeeper.



Other posts in this category