Sports FAQ
Home / Europe Football

Gerrard named player of the year

holicman2010-05-03 00:12:05 +0000 #1
At a gala ceremony in London's Grosvenor House Hotel this evening, the Liverpool captain beat off competition from Wayne Rooney, Frank Lampard, Thierry Henry, John Terry and Joe Cole to land the top honour.

The award finishes off a sensational weekend for Gerrard after he helped Liverpool into the FA Cup final with an excellent display against Chelsea yesterday.

With 19 goals to his name, Gerrard currently sits at the top of the goalscoring charts at Anfield and has played an inspirational role in the Reds' securing Champions League football for next season with three games to spare.

Manchester United's Wayne Rooney won the Young Player of the Year award.

Previous PFA Players of the Year:

1996: Les Ferdinand (Newcastle)

1997: Alan Shearer (Newcastle)

1998: Dennis Bergkamp (Arsenal)

1999: David Ginola (Tottenham)

2000: Roy Keane (Manchester Utd)

2001: Teddy Sheringham (Manchester Utd)

2002: Ruud Van Nistelrooy (Manchester Utd)

2003: Thierry Henry (Arsenal)

2004: Thierry Henry (Arsenal)

2005: John Terry (Chelsea)

source: the official premier league website.

Sirhail2010-05-03 00:15:19 +0000 #2
yeah i thought rooney shoulda won it..............

but well gone 2 steven gerrard.....the captain of my beloved club!



Other posts in this category