Sports FAQ
Home / Europe Football

Ronaldinho crowned king of the world

7becks72010-05-08 22:52:10 +0000 #1
although I would like to see sheva win this award, I can't really say that ronaldinho doesn't deserve it, he's been the complete difference for barca, the only thing that I'm surprised is that henry was runner-up, I don't think he deserves to be anything higher than 3rd or 4th


ZURICH, Dec 20 (Reuters) - Barcelona's Brazilian playmaker Ronaldinho was named FIFA World Player of the Year on Monday.

Ronaldinho, 24, totalled 620 points followed by Thierry Henry of Arsenal and France on 552. Newly-crowned European Footballer of the Year Andriy Shevchenko of AC Milan and Ukraine was third on 253.

'For me just to be selected and to be here was already an honour,' Ronaldinho told the FIFA gala awards ceremony.

'Of course I have to thank my Barcelona colleagues because I could not have won it without them.

'I am very happy at Barcelona, I want to be part of a new winning era at the club and I have no plans to go anywhere else,' he added, dismissing suggestions he might be interested in a move to Chelsea.

It was the second successive year that Henry has finished as runner-up in the poll based on the verdict of 157 international coaches and, for the first time this year, 145 national team captains.

Five points were awarded for a first place nomination, three for second and one for third. Ronaldinho gained 89 first place votes, Henry 79 and Shevchenko 34.

Last year's winner Zinedine Zidane, who announced his international retirement from the France team after Euro 2004, came fourth. Last year's European Footballer of the Year Pavel Nedved of the Czech Republic was fifth.

Ronaldinho has transformed Barcelona since arriving from Paris St Germain in 2003 and they lead the Primera Liga by nine points. Unlike his rivals for the award, organised by world soccer's governing body FIFA, Ronaldinho did not win a major club trophy this year.

Ronaldinho did not take part in the Copa America won by Brazil as he was rested along with Ronaldo and Roberto Carlos.

He is the fourth Brazilian to capture the award since its introduction in 1991 after Romario (1994), three times winner Ronaldo (1996, 1997 and 2002) and Rivaldo (1999).

porkster1042010-05-08 22:58:12 +0000 #2
Congrats to him!

But I also would've liked to see Sheva win it too...
Leon of Silvren2010-05-08 22:58:10 +0000 #3
I think Sheva should've won it, but Dinho is a great player too, I just feel this wasn't his turn, anyway congrats to him.
RaulMadrid72010-05-08 23:05:25 +0000 #4
Yeah yeah you all say that Sheva should have won it but congrats to Ronaldinho... but i personally think that Ronaldinho has worked hard and used his talent to show he deserves it and i think he will get at least 1 more in the future giving his age (24) and the many championships he can and will achieve with BRAZIL and BARCALONA that he didn't but still won the award this year.

So theres argueably no question he will at least be 1st, 2nd or 3rd next year or the years to come.

By the way Sheva won his European of the year award and i think that is enough for him and a 3rd world place finish, and that Henry does deserve 2nd because of his accomplishments and giving him a 3rd place last year.



Other posts in this category