Sports FAQ
Home / Tennis

Tennis Masters Cup is how going

UC214452642010-01-22 18:01:59 +0000 #1
I want to ask how the matter Tennis Masters tournament, as well as ATP tournament, Grand Slam is Zenmo thing, first thank the
shpd7132010-01-22 18:04:00 +0000 #2
(1) Tennis Masters Cup (Tennis MastersCup) is a tennis tournament, held at the end of each year, participants are then ranked men's tennis ATP Champions (ATP ChampionRace) before the eight players. However, according to Masters Cup rules, ranked eighth in the ATP Champions players will not necessarily be eligible for entry. If a player is one of the year and the four Grand Slam titles among the top 20 or less (but ranked eighth away), then he can replace the eighth player into the Masters Cup, but if more than one Players meet the above conditions in order to champion ranked higher as a priority. With other men's tour is different from Tennis Masters Cup is not a system of direct elimination tournament. But all eight players are divided into two groups of four people, with team single round robin format in which each player must be with the other players in this group once the fighting hand to hand. Each team has the best scores of the top two semi-finals, then semi-finals of the winners to compete for the championship.

2008 held in Shanghai Tennis Masters Cup is the history of the last Tennis Masters Cup, in 2009, the Tennis Masters Cup was renamed as "ATP World Tour Finals", and moved to London, England.

The event began with the evolution of the 1970 Championship, the third stage. It was first known by everyone by the International Tennis Federation (International Tennis Federation, ITF) organization's Masters Tour. Masters is an event held at the end of each year, participants are men on the tour's best players, but its world ranking of no value. In 1990, the International Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) to take over the operation of the men's tour and to ATP Tour World Championships (ATP Tour World Championship) replaced the Masters. At this time the world ranking system is in danger, because a victory of the championship with a win only one Grand Slam title four players score obtained is the same. The continued operation of the ITF Grand Slam Tour, created a year-end tournament, the Grand Slam Cup (the Grand Slam Cup), players return for the year Grand Slam tournament record of the best 16 players. In December 1999, ATP and the ITF agreed to suspend these two independent events and to set up a new joint event that Tennis Masters Cup. With the Masters and the ATP Tour World Championship difference is that the Tennis Masters Cup with eight players to participate.

For many years, doubles as a stand-alone event is always in the singles competition held during the week after. But in recent years, these two events began in the same week with a place. Like with the singles matches, doubles matches of the participants is the annual Tour of the most successful of the eight teams to the Panel in the form of single round-robin competition.

The first time, record players came out in 2000 Tennis Masters Cup in Lisbon, Kuerten beat the other players, won the ATP Championship in 2000, becoming the year-end ranking in the world. To 2001 contestants compete for the same amount held in Sydney Tennis Masters Cup. The final local player Lleyton Hewitt of Australia won the championship in order to stretch their unbeaten run to become the year-end world number one the youngest players.

2002 tournament was held in Shanghai, China, Hewitt reelection year-end champion and the world's first Chinese tennis fans have the opportunity to experience the Masters Cup in history watching one of the most successful event.

In 2003, Federer's unbeaten Houston in the United States won the championship game in 2004 was also held in Houston.

2005, 2006 and 2007 games are located in Shanghai, China, in 2005 champion David Nalbandian, Roger Federer reelection of the 06,07-year champion, three-time runner-up Roger Federer, respectively, mine-laying grams and Ferrer.

2008, the history of the re-settled in the last Masters Cup in Shanghai, this time as Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer's injuries, the final rendezvous is Novak Djokovic and Nikolay Davydenko, the former eventually won the championship.

Previous winner of the doubles championship and before 2001 are not included in the Masters Cup, a separate holding


2003 Houston does not hold title Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan, runner-up Michael Llodra / Fabrice Santoro

2004 Nian Houston champion Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan, runner-up Wayne Black / Kevin Ullyett

2005 in Shanghai champion Michael Llodra / Fabrice Santoro, runner-up Leander Paes / Nenad Zimonjic

2006 in Shanghai champions Jonas Bjorkman / Max Mirnyi, runner-up Mark Knowles / Daniel Nestor

2007 in Shanghai champions Mark Knowles / Daniel Nestor, runner-up Simon Aspelin / Julian Knowle

2008 in Shanghai champions Daniel Nestor / Nenad Zimonjic, runner-up Bob Bryan / Mike Bryan

(2) ATP is the acronym for Association of Tennis Professional, can be translated as professional men's tennis association, is the world's men's professional tennis players of the "autonomous" management organizations.

ATP U.S. Open in 1972, set up, whose main task is to coordinate between professional athletes and event partnerships and is responsible for the organization and management of professional players score, rankings, prize money distribution, and the development of competition rules and the granting or cancellation of players qualify for the work of Deng Xiang

ATP Series also includes several games the following:

1, Masters Cup;

2, the World Team Championships;

3, ATP World Tour 1000 event; ATP World Tour's 500 events, ATP World Tour 250 race

4, the international gold series;

5, the international series.

(3) refers to the four Grand Slam tennis tournament, Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon, U.S. Open, where Australian and U.S. Opens is a hard race, breaking the law is a clay tournament, Wimbledon is a grass event

sometimes also put in the Olympic year as the Olympic tennis champion slam as part of the whole, if a player in his career, won the Grand Slam and Olympic champion, the general is known as the Golden Slam



Other posts in this category